Avocado Dip

Avocados seem to be one of those polarizing foods that people usually have a strong opinion about-they either can happily eat them everyday for the rest of their lives, like me, or they won’t go anywhere near them.  Well, if you’re one of the latter type, feel free to just exit this post now, because today is all about showing the avocado some love!  Group hug for avocado lovers! 🙂

Okay, now I feel better and can continue on with this post.  This is a great little dip to try if you’re looking for something other than your standard guacamole recipe.  It comes courtesy of The Food Network’s Ingrid Hoffman(her show is called Simply Delicioso).  She actually pairs this recipe with baked sweet potato fries, which I have tried with this dip and really enjoyed.  Since I was looking to make just a quick snack this time, I ate it with tortilla chips.  This also makes a super spread for sandwiches.  Think spruced up BLT, turkey and Monterey Jack, or a veggie option with tomato, cucumber, and sprouts.

Btw, can I just take a moment to lament over the tiny, measly, puny avocados we get in the grocery stores here?  My soul(and tummy) cries out for the monstrous avocados I grew up eating in Florida.  Picked right off my Mawmaw’s avocado tree in her backyard. And now here I am, reduced to buying grocery store Hass avocados. *Sigh*  If only we lived in a perfect world…

Now what are you waiting for?  Go give this recipe a try!

Avocado Dip

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium Hass avocado
  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup cream cheese, softened
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, minced
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1 medium lime, juiced

Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender, and blend until smooth.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers

One response to “Avocado Dip

  1. As a native Californian, I am *all over* the avocado. They are so yummy! I really want to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

