Retro Recipe! Dilly Bread

Paired with my love for old cookware/bakeware is a love for old recipes.  There’s just something about making a recipe that I know has been made by countless other cooks for their families for generations that gives me the warm fuzzies inside.  Is that strange?  Maybe what I like most is that they make me think back to times when the world was maybe not quite such a fast-paced, technology-crazed place as it is today.  Can’t you just picture a June Cleaver type mom in her pretty little dress in the kitchen baking up Dilly Bread for her family?  If I lived back in the 1950’s I would be that June Cleaver type. And I would wear pretty little dresses every day!

I’ve seen variations of this bread in numerous cookbooks over the years and have always wanted to give it a try, dill being one of my favorite herbs. The recipe that I chose to make comes from The Pastors’ Wives Cookbook, published in 1978. I’m happy to say the finished product definitely lived up to my expectations.  It had a soft texture with a very nice onion/dill flavor.  I think slices of this bread would be especially good to use in making tuna salad or egg salad sandwiches with.

One thing I’ll mention is that the directions call for mixing the dough like a batter bread,  no kneading involved.  However, since I already had my stand mixer out from making a different bread, I decided to just throw this one in as well and let the mixer knead it like I would most other yeast breads I make.  I’ve typed the directions up here exactly as they are written in the book, and I’ll let you decide if you want to take the extra step of kneading the dough.

Dilly Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg dry active yeast
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 cup creamed cottage cheese, heated to lukewarm
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 1/4 to 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tb dill weed
  • 1 Tb dried onion flakes
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tb butter, melted

Directions:

Mix together yeast and warm water.  Let stand until foamy. Combine yeast mixture with all remaining ingredients except flour in a mixing bowl.  Stir in flour a little at a time, beating well after each addition.  Grease the ball of dough.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until double in bulk.  Punch down.  Shape into a greased round or place in a bread pan.  Grease, cover, and let it rise again until double in bulk.  Bake at 350F for 25-30 minutes.  While it is still hot, butter the crust.

1 Comment

Filed under Breads

One response to “Retro Recipe! Dilly Bread

  1. Diane

    I had some dill in my garden, so I saw this recipe and decided to try it. Delicious! You can really taste the dill, but it isn’t overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

