A Southern Classic-Peach Cobbler

When I was little, my family used to drive up to south Georgia every summer for our family reunion.  For my sister and I, we looked forward to those precious few days more than probably any other time during the year.  We got to play with all our cousins that we hadn’t seen since the previous summer and go running around the Georgia back country like crazy kids.  And there was always heaps of good Southern cookin’ for us to refuel on.  To this day, anytime I make a peach cobbler it instantly brings back memories of being in Georgia.  I can remember staying at my Great-Aunt Winnie’s house and rolling out of bed to find that she had already long been in the kitchen peeling peaches for cobbler.  Those were magical days that always ended much too soon.

When I first met my husband, he’d never had peach cobbler before, but now his eyes light up anytime I mention making one.  It’s just that darn good. And it’s a tradition I’m proud to be carrying on.  There are two types of peach cobbler I make, one that has a buttery cake-like batter that bakes up over the peaches and is the kind I grew up eating,  and one that has more of a biscuit-like topping.  The second one is what I chose to make for Easter, though I do love both of them equally.

I’ve driven across the US, and even driven all the way up here to Edmonton, Alberta.  But if there’s one place in the world I would choose to live above all others, it would be among the rolling hills of south Georgia…sitting on my front porch swing with my hubby and a bowl of peach cobbler.

Southern Peach Cobbler

Ingredients:

  • 8 medium peaches, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup + 3 Tb granulated sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, divided
  • 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon, divided
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 Tb butter
  • 1/4 cup hot water

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425F. In a large bowl stir together sliced peaches, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice, and cornstarch.  Pour into a baking dish, and bake for 10 minutes.  While peaches are baking, combine flour, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly.  Add hot water, and stir just until combined. Remove peaches from the oven, and drop batter by small spoonfuls over the top.  Combine remaining 3 Tb granulated sugar with 1 tsp cinnamon, and sprinkle over the top of the batter.  Return to the oven, and bake for another 30 minutes.  Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “A Southern Classic-Peach Cobbler

  1. Oh yum. This recipe brings back so many memories for me! My grandmother made peach cobbler for us that was divine and this looks a lot like her recipe. Mmmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

