Ellie Krieger’s Breakfast Cookies

I’ve made these breakfast cookies many times. I think they’re quite yummy. Soft, sweet, and deceptively good for you. You can also easily play around with the ingredients. Don’t like walnuts? Use another nut. Feeling a bit decadent? Throw in some chocolate chips. It’s all good. And they’re a great portable breakfast, which is key for me, since my hubby never eats breakfast before heading out the door in the mornings, and I want him to have something he can pack in his lunchbox for when he does eventually get hungry. What a good wife I am(most of the time!).

One thing I do want to stress is not to over-bake these cookies, otherwise you won’t get the aforementioned soft, chewy texture. And then you’ll just have to throw the whole batch away, and start over! Just kidding(but not about the not over-baking thing). One last thing I want to mention, I never use the baby food called for in the ingredients. With a little planning ahead, it’s much more economical to steam and puree your own carrots. Sometimes I also like to substitute canned pumpkin or even mashed sweet potatoes. Whatever you choose, you’ll need 1/4 cup.

Btw, for those not in the know, Ellie Krieger is the host of Healthy Appetite with Ellie Krieger on the Food Network. I love her recipes, and just recently purchased both of her cookbooks.

Ellie Krieger’s Breakfast Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup bran flakes
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup toasted walnuts
  • 2 Tb butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 Tb granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 small jar carrot baby food
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a large bowl. Stir in rolled oats, bran flakes, raisins, and walnuts. Set aside. In another bowl, whisk together butter, oil, brown sugar, granulated sugar, egg, baby food, and vanilla. Add the dry ingredients to this mixture, and stir just until everything is combined. Drop by 1/4 cup measures onto ungreased baking sheet. I actually like to use my hands to shape them into balls, then I flatten them slightly after I put them on the baking sheet. Bake for about 12 minutes until lightly browned but still soft. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch

Leave a Reply

