Blueberry Tea Bread

Good Sunday morning!  How is everyone?  Just peachy up here on the Alberta prairie.  Enjoying a cup of coffee and a little peace and quiet to myself before Jay wakes up.  Don’t you love that quiet, early morning time?  :)

We had a freak snowstorm last week that dumped tons of heavy, wet snow on us.  But, as of today, it’s almost all melted away already.  Yes!  *pumps fist in the air*  And an unexpected positve outcome from the snow was that my car, which was in desperate need of a bath, looks much nicer now.  *another fist pump*

I had a hankering for something with blueberries the other day.  Luckily, I had a bag of blueberries in the freezer already.  So I went searching through my cookbooks, sure I could find the perfect recipe to satisfy my blueberry craving. 

Enter this delicious bread from Southern Living.  Just the thing I needed!  This is more of a dessert bread, not really something you want to eat every morning for a healthy breakfast (though I’m all for indulgence once in a while!). 

Like most quick breads, this does benefit from sitting for a day before you eat it.  I don’t know about y’all, but I can never let a quick bread sit for a day before eating it!  But I really did find with this bread, after eating it straight from the oven and then having a slice the next day, that it is much better the next day.  Still great not matter what, but just that much better if you can wait :)

I hope you enjoy, and until next time, Happy Cooking!

Blueberry Tea Bread

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tb cake flour
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 1 Tb chopped almonds (I left these out)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries
  • 3 cups sifted cake flour, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 Tb vanilla

Directions:

Combine first 4 ingredients.  Stir in 1 tsp butter until crumbly.  Set aside.

Combine blueberries and 2 Tb flour, tossing to coat.  Set aside.

Stir together remaining flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.  Cut in remaining butter until mixture is crumbly. 

Whisk together egg, milk, and vanilla.  Add to the flour mixture, stirring until all ingredients are moistened.  Fold in blueberries.

Pour into a greased 9×5 inch loaf pan.  Sprinkle the almond mixture over the top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour 10 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Lest rest in the pan for 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool.

*All-purpose flour can be substituted for the cake flour.  For each cup of cake flour called for, use one cup of all-purpose minus 2 Tb.

4 Comments

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch, Fruit

4 responses to “Blueberry Tea Bread

  1. We love bread of any kind…this looks great! I think I might make mini-loaves and give to teachers during teacher appreciation week.

    I also shared this recipe on my Must Try Tuesday post.

    http://therickettchronicles.blogspot.com/2011/04/must-try-tuesday-april-19-2011.html

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

