Pizza Pasta Salad

Who’s ready to start making salads of all kinds, fire up the bbq, and sit out on the deck in the warm spring sun?  *Raises both hands and waves them frantically around like a maniac*

Great, well let’s get to it then!

I love pizza.  I also love pasta.  So combining the two seems like a pretty darn good idea, dontcha think?  You do?? I’m so glad we think alike! :)

This is a Kraft recipe.  I don’t make many of their recipes because I find that they rely a little too much on convenience products for my taste.  A recipe that starts off with a box of Kraft Dinner? No thanks! 

But as I was looking through a stack of old what’s cooking magazines the other day, my eyes alighted on this pizza pasta salad recipe. 

It sounded really good.  I had (mostly) all the ingredients.  It was not overladen with convenience products. So I made it!  How’s that for short and to the point? ;)

The ingredients in this salad really make me long for summer.  I can’t wait to have a big, bushy basil plant growing wildly on the back deck again.  Luckily, I did have some that I’d tucked away in the freezer last summer that I was able to use.  If you don’t have any fresh basil, just sprinkle in some dried, it’ll be just fine :)

And don’t be afraid to add other favorite pizza ingredients like bell pepper and red onion.

Here’s my slightly adapted version. I hope y’all give this a try and enjoy it!  Until next time, happy cooking :)

Pizza Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups medium shell pasta, cooked, drained and cooled
  • 4 medium tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sliced or chopped pepperoni
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup Italian dressing

Directions:

Toss all ingredients together in a large bowl.  Refrigerate at least 1 hour to blend flavors.

I’m sharing this recipe with:

Leave a comment

Filed under Pasta, Pizza, Salads

Leave a Reply

