Orange Nut Bread

Today’s recipe comes from this slightly battered old cookbook:

I bought it from Amazon a while back with a gift card I won from Swagbucks.  If you don’t have a Swagbucks account yet, just go to http://www.swagbucks.com  to sign up. Update: t’s been brought to my attention that for some strange reason the link keeps going to the Wordpress website.  I have no idea why!  I’ve typed out the address now so you can copy and paste it :)  

There’s something about old cookbooks that I just love.  I love the worn, tattered pages, the splotches of food strains here and there, the faint musty smell.  *Swoon*  I’ll take an old cookbook any day over a shiny, brand new one.  

I’ve never made an orange-flavored quick bread before, and this one sounded interesting.  I decided to use dates rather than raisins, and I never realized before now what a great combination oranges and dates are!  This bread is sweet and moist and chock full of dates and nuts.

To get the orange peel, I used my vegetable peeler to get strips like this.

I just used my knife to quickly chop it up finely.  Here’s the batter ready to go into the oven.  You can see all the lovely bits of orange, dates, and nuts in the mix.

Fresh out of the oven.

Slices of this were especially nice with a little cream cheese spread on.  Perfect along with a cup of morning coffee or tea!

I hope you try this and enjoy it!  Until next time, happy cooking :)

Orange Nut Bread

Ingredients:

  • juice and rind of 1 medium orange
  • 1 cup raisins or chopped dates
  • 2 Tb melted shortening (I used vegetable oil)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

Directions:

Pour orange juice into a measuring cup.  Add enough hot water to equal 1 cup.

Using a knife or food processor, finely chop orange rind.  Add to a large bowl with raisins or dates, diluted orange juice mixture, shortening, vanilla, and egg.

In a separate bowl, stir together the dry ingredients. Add the chopped nuts.  Add to the bowl with the wet ingredients.  Mix just until combined.

Pour into a greased 9×5 loaf pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 1 hour.

I’m sharing this recipe with:

11 Comments

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch, Fruit

11 responses to “Orange Nut Bread

  1. Wow! This bread looks wonderful — I love the addition of the orange juice, I bet it gives an amaaaazing flavor. Headed over to Swagbucks shortly to sign up! :)

  2. Your link heads to a WordPress page – can you send me the updated link ? :)

    • That’s so strange, I can’t figure out why the link keeps going to the WordPress page! I’ve typed out the address so that you can at least copy and paste it now :)

  3. Mmmm I love orange bread, can’t wait to try out this recipe!

  4. Connie

    Hi, This sounds wonderful. I made your poor mans lasagna rolls last Friday and they were out of this world. I also read Laura Ingalls Wilder books when I was little. I wore them out because I read them so much. Hope you have a great week .

  5. What a beautiful-looking loaf! Sounds yummy, too.

  6. Very nice recipe, the loaf looks really good. I love orange in just about everything combined with some nuts this is going to be great with a nice cup of tea, already hit my maximum coffee intake level for the day.
    Thanks for sharing, look forward to the smell of the oven.

  7. I just love Club and Church Cookbooks, really some of the best recipes are found in those books. Your Orange Nut Bread is certainly one of those, it looks delicious. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and please come back!

  8. this bread looks like the perfect accompaniment to my morning tea. i like your idea of schmearing cream cheese on a nice toasted piece. i can hardly wait until morning! thank you for sharing with tuesday night supper club.

Leave a Reply

