Flat (or Slick) Dumplings for Chicken n’ Dumplings

Chicken n’ dumplings was one of my favorite meals growing up and it still is. 

Now, did your moms make the flat dumplings or the fluffy dumplings?  Mine always made the fluffy dumplings, I think partly because they were much quicker to make and also because my dad preferred them.  But us girls (my mom, sister, and I)  knew the best dumplings are really the flat kind.  Just about the only time we ever got to eat them was at our family reunions in Georgia every summer. Nobody can make chicken n’ dumplings as good as a south Georgia cook.  No, I’m not biased at all ;)

I make the flat kind as well.  That’s how I made them when I first introduced my husband to chicken n’ dumplings, which by the way, is probably his favorite meal now.  You should see the way that man’s eyes light up when I make it.  I tried fluffy dumplings on him once, and he informed me that I should stick with the flat kind.  Okay by me!

So today I want to give a tutorial on how I make them, which is geared towards those of you who have never made flat dumplings before.  Hopefully it will inspire you to give them a try in your own kitchen!  I’m sharing a very basic recipe, which is the one I most often use.  One of these days maybe I’ll post my great-grandmother, Ella Mae Jay’s, recipe too :)

Let me just give a quick rundown on how I make the chicken part, aside from the dumplings.  I’m not even giving a recipe for it because it’s so darn easy.  I just take a few chicken quarters, and throw them in my crockpot along with some chopped onion, celery, and carrot.  Give it a good season with garlic powder, salt, and pepper, then add enough water to cover, about 5 cups or so.  You can also do this in a pot on the stove.  You can also leave out the vegetables, but I like to include them.  Cover and simmer until the chicken is falling off the bone.  Take it out and set it on a plate until it’s cool enough to shred.

Now we’re ready for the dumplings!  Stir together all the dough ingredients until a ball forms, like this.  I usually have to add a couple more tablespoonfuls of water to get it to come together.

Put it down on a floured surface, and just roll it on out.  You want it to be very thin.

At this point, I use my pizza cutter to cut it into strips.

Here you can see the how thin I roll the dough out.  I like it very thin, though if you make them often enough, you’ll come to know how thin or thick you prefer yours.

Pinch off portions of dough, about 1 to 2 inch pieces, and drop them straight into your broth.  If you’re using a crockpot you want it cranked to high now, or at a simmer on the stovetop.  You can add your chicken at this point as well, or wait until the dumplings are done, it doesn’t matter.  You’ll need to give them a good 45 minutes in the crockpot or about 20 minutes on the stovetop. 

Now dish yourself out a big bowl, then sit down and enjoy the best comfort food on earth.

This is one of my favorite meals of all time.  I hope when I’m 90 years old I’m still able to get in the kitchen and make this.  I hope you give it a try and enjoy it as much as I do! :)

Until next time, happy cooking!

Flat (or Slick) Dumplings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 Tb vegetable oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

Stir together all ingredients until a ball forms.  Stir in additional water, if necessary, one tablespoon at a time to get dough to come together. 

Turn out onto a floured surface, and roll out very thinly.  Using a pizza cutter or knife,  cut into strips.  Pinch off 1-2 inch length portions and drop into simmering broth.  Cover and simmer for about 20 minutes.

*This amount of dough will make enough dumplings for about 4 servings of chicken n dumplings.  If you’re feeding a large family I would suggest doubling the recipe.

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Crockpot Meals

2 responses to “Flat (or Slick) Dumplings for Chicken n’ Dumplings

  1. Debbie

    OMGosh, there’s nothing like a pot of homemade slick dumpling, like the older church ladies made when I was growing up in southeast Texas!! I’ve never been able to master it, no matter how hard I try – they never used a recipe, of course. Definitely will be trying this! Thanks SOOO much for a fantastic post!

Leave a Reply

