Irish Beef Stew…and my Pantry Challenge!

I don’t do a lot of cooking with alcohol in my kitchen.  I’m far from being sophisticated enough to have numerous bottles of wine around for adding to various dishes.  I wouldn’t have a clue about what to buy!  But Guinness, now that’s another story.  I know exactly what to do with Guinness (well, besides drinking it!). Guinness was made to go in beef stew.  The two are, quite simply, a match made in stew heaven.   And if you didn’t tell, no one would ever know you had added it, it would just be that secret ingredient that they can’t quite put their finger on.  The rich depth of flavor that it adds can’t be beat.

A word of warning here-do NOT use Guinness extra stout (trust me, I speak from experience).  If that’s all you have, and I can’t be the only nutty person who loves that wonderful, super bitter black Irish goodness, then use just half the bottle and use water for the remaining liquid.

This week also begins my Pantry Challenge.  I’ve seen several of my favorite blogs implementing this in their kitchens recently, and it got me thinking about my own large stockpile of food in the deep freeze and pantry.  So I’ve decided to spend the next several weeks (at least-we’ll see how long I can go!) working my way through it and keeping my grocery bill to a minimum.  I’m usually pretty good about not going crazy at the grocery store anyway, but like all of us, I often stray from my grocery list and buy things that aren’t really necessary.

But I’m going to buckle down now and focus instead on what I’ve already got available at home!  I’ve started making a list of recipe ideas that utilize only ingredients I already have, and it’s becoming quite a long list.  It’s amazing how many meals you can come up with when you sit down and really start thinking about what you already have on hand!  And I’m going to be keeping an eye out on all of your blogs for more ideas! :)

Irish Beef Stew

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb stew meat
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 large carrots, sliced
  • 3 large potatoes, cubed
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1 bottle Guinness stout
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Directions:

Season stew meat with salt and pepper.  Brown in skillet on all sides.  Add to crockpot along with all remaining ingredients, except parsley, and cook on low for 8 hours.  Stir in parsley just before serving.

You can also cook this on the stove top, if you prefer.  But y’all know how I love my crockpots!

This recipe is being shared with:

2 Comments

Filed under Beef, Crockpot Meals, Soups/Stews

2 responses to “Irish Beef Stew…and my Pantry Challenge!

  1. That beef stew looks like it would add some warmth on a cold winter night.

Leave a Reply

