Mulled Cider

Here’s a delicious recipe for hot mulled cider.  It comes from my little old Crockery Cookery cookbook.  I threw the ingredients into the crockpot when we got up Christmas morning, gave it about an hour on high and it was ready!

We never really drank apple cider, hot or cold, in my family when I was growing up (maybe it’s not that popular in Florida?), though my mom did make wassail a couple times for our Christmas breakfast gatherings.  I’ve made wassail as well and I love it, but I forgot to get all the ingredients I needed to make it this year, and I had all the ingredients on hand for this mulled cider.

It doesn’t need to be limited to just Christmas either, a cup of hot mulled cider would be great to make any time the weather is cold out and you want something hot to sip on.

It’s been a while since I’ve shared any pictures with y’all of what things look like in my neck of the woods, so I thought I’d also post a few pictures I took when Jay and I went for a (very chilly!) walk in the evening after our Christmas dinner.

Mulled Cider

Ingredients:

  • 2 quarts apple cider
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 tsp whole cloves
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 whole orange, sliced (unpeeled)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in crockpot.  Cook on low for 2-3 hours or on high for 1 hour.  Can be left on low for as long as you need it to stay warm.

2 Comments

Filed under Crockpot Meals, Drinks

2 responses to “Mulled Cider

  1. scriptorobscura

    Mmm…delicious! Can’t wait to try this recipe :)

Leave a Reply

