Spinach Garlic Soup

Today I present, for your cooking and eating pleasure…green soup!

Okay, so that may not be the most appetizing picture in the world.  But trust me, especially if you are a garlic lover, you may just be tempted to pour this lovely concoction straight into a mug and drink it.  It is so yummy!  I often turn to this recipe when I have fresh spinach that I failed to use up quickly enough and is starting to get questionable. 

I imagine this as the kind of soup that might be served at those soup and sandwich places that are becoming so popular.  It would be perfect go along with a fancy panini or wrap or even just a grilled cheese. 

I’ve had this recipe for several years and have done some streamlining so that it can be cooked in one pot.  I love when I can reduce the number of pots and pans I have to dirty up for a recipe! This recipe is also super quick to throw together, another bonus!

Start by cooking up all that delicious garlic in butter just until you can start smelling it pretty good.  A great tip here is to use a mini cheese grater or microplane to quickly grate up those garlic cloves.

Add in the veggies, cooking just until the spinach starts to wilt, then stir in the broth.

All that needs to do is bubble away for about 10 minutes, then it’s time to add the flour, milk, and cream.  Sometimes I stop there, and sometimes I like to use my handy dandy immersion blender to blend it up.  It’s great either way.

And that’s it!  How easy was that? :)  I want to mention here that I made just half the recipe, so you’ll of course have more than I have here if you make the full recipe.

Spinach Garlic Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 10 ounces fresh spinach, chopped (finely chop this if you’re not going to blend the soup)
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pinch of nutmeg

Directions:

Melt butter in a saucepan.  Add the garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes.  Add onion, carrots, and spinach, cooking just until the spinach wilts.  Stir in the chicken broth.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until veggies are tender.

Whisk together the flour, cream, and milk.  Stir into the soup.  Simmer until soup is heated through, making sure not to let it come to a boil.  Puree soup, if desired.  Season with salt, pepper, and nutmeg to taste.

This recipe is being shared with:

2 Comments

Filed under Soups/Stews, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Spinach Garlic Soup

  1. What a yummy soup! Thank you for sharing your recipe and you have a great week!

  2. What a delicious way to use spinach. By the way, I’m holding a giveaway on my blog for Orglamix Organic makeup and you’re welcome to come by and enter. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2010/12/orglamix-organic-mineral-makeup-review.html

Leave a Reply

