Vegetable Fiesta Skillet Dinner

Here’s a recipe from another one of my recent cookbook acquisitions, Pillsbury’s One-Dish Meals Cookbook.  I think this is one of the best cookbooks I’ve bought in quite some time.  The recipes are all exactly what I’m looking for when it comes to dinner ideas- quick and easy, with minimal clean up involved.  I’ve got tons tagged that I want to try!

Like many of you, I’m sure we don’t eat enough servings of fruits and vegetables each day, so one of my new goals is to try to incorporate more vegetables into our meals.  This recipe was a great starting point.  I was able to use up a squash and zucchini from the garden, and Jay loves tacos and Mexican-style food, so it made him more open-minded about trying a meatless dish as well. And cheese sprinkled on top makes everything taste better, right?  And as you can see from the picture, we crushed tortilla chips over our servings.

I also did prep all the vegetables before-hand in the morning, so that helped this dish come together super quick. Enjoy!

Vegetable Fiesta Skillet Dinner

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 small zucchini, halved lengthwise and cut into slices
  • 1 small summer squash, halved lengthwise and cut into slices
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can Mexicorn, undrained
  • 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup salsa (I used my favorite Herdez brand salsa mexicana)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 pkg taco seasoning
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese

Directions:

Heat a small amount of oil in a large skillet.  Add the onion and carrot, cooking 8-10 minutes over medium-high heat until crisp-tender.  Add all the remaining ingredients except for the cheese.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium-low.  Cover and simmer for 5-7 minutes.  Remove from heat. Sprinkle with cheese.  Cover; let stand until cheese is melted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stove-Top Meals, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

