The Comfort Diner’s Gingerbread Pancakes

One of the things  I miss most about the neighborhood we used to live in was this little mom and pop restaurant just down the road from us.  There wasn’t anything fancy on the menu and the place wasn’t much to look at, but the food was finger lickin’ good, and it was always neat and clean inside.  Places like that are right up my alley.  Warm and inviting, and they always make you feel at home.

So when I was at the library last weekend (by myself for once!  and it was everything I thought it could be) and came across a little cookbook called The Comfort Diner Cookbook, I snatched it up.  Recipes for classic diner food?  Sold!  The Comfort Diner is an award-winning restaurant in New York City (though I’d never heard of it before).  Looking through this cookbook, I see so many recipes I want to try, though the one my eye was drawn to the most was the Gingerbread Pancakes.  I made them last night for dinner, and they were delicious!  Light and fluffy, and I thought the spices were just perfect. 

Jay and I love having breakfast for dinner, and these pancakes are definitely something I’d make again.  I think if you make them, you’ll love them too!

The Comfort Diner’s Gingerbread Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tb brown sugar
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 Tb ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of ground cloves and nutmeg
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tb molasses
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup sour cream 
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted

Directions:

Whisk together the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices in a large bowl.  In another bowl, beat the eggs lightly.  Whisk in the molasses, milk, butter, and sour cream.  A little trick here that I do is warm up the milk in the microwave until it’s just warmer than room temp, that way the butter doesn’t clump back up when the ingredients are whisked together. 

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry, and mix until the batter is smooth with no lumps.  Melt a little butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Scoop 1/4 to 1/2 cup batter onto the surface, and cook until small bubbles form.  Flip, and continue cooking until done.  Repeat with the rest of the batter.  Serve with syrup.

This recipe is linked to the $5 Dinner Challenge.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch

Leave a Reply

