Savory Summer Pie

 

Boy, is it good to be back!  I had forgotten just how big of a pain in the rear moving is.  We’re just about all settled in finally, just a few more things to put away and pictures to put up, that sort of thing.  I really like my new kitchen, it’s very open, and we’ve actually been using the kitchen table which we never did at the apartment because it was tucked away in a corner.  Once I finish getting everything in it’s place I’ll post some pictures, and let y’all have a peak into Cat’s kitchen :)

And I’m so happy to be back blogging again!  I made it back just in time to post this amazing quiche recipe for Potluck Sunday at Mommy’s Kitchen.  This is, hands down, my favorite quiche.  The recipe comes from Southern Living, and it was actually one of the first recipes I made after I moved out on my own years ago.  As you’ll notice from the ingredient list, this calls for a LOT of cheese, and while I know there can never be too much cheese, I usually cut the amount in half and find it to be plenty cheesy still.  I think you’ll really enjoy this recipe! :)

Savory Summer Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie crust
  • 1 small red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup half & half
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 2 cups Monterey Jack cheese
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 3 plum tomatoes, sliced

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425F.  Bake pie crust for 10 minutes, or until just lightly brown.  Meanwhile, saute bell pepper, onion, and garlic in olive oil until softened.  In a large bowl whisk together eggs, half & half, salt, pepper, and basil.  Stir in sauteed vegetables and Monterey Jack cheese.  Pour into pie crust.  Top with tomato slices.  Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Reduce oven to 375F.  Bake quiche for 40-45 minutes or until set.

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch

5 responses to “Savory Summer Pie

  1. Congrats on your new place and great to have you back!! You were missed. :o)

  2. Looks very good, fresh and easy!

  3. Yummy! Looks like a great quiche indeed…I look forward to making it soon. :-)

  4. Pingback: Press-In-Pan Pie Crust | Little Kitchen on the Prairie

Leave a Reply

